On Causes for Cancer

This post is part ‘spread the word’ and part ‘shameless promotion’.

First, in case you hadn’t noticed, October is National Breast Cancer Awareness Month.

Second, on October 13th, I’m doing the Light the Night Walk in association with the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. I’m walking with the CFI-DC Team. Shameless promotion #1: if you’d like to donate to support the cause, my donation page is here.

If you’ve checked Freshly Pressed, recently, you may have come across A Clown on Fire’s Bloggers for Movember post. Movember is a movement that brings awareness, education, and support to men’s health issues, especially prostate cancer. Shameless promotion #2: You can find my Movember page here (do not donate there, yet, as I am assuming the Bloggers for Movember will become a team). If you’re interested or want more info, check out the blog post or the facebook page.

During the month of November, I will be growing my moustache. I will be posting my moustache progress as well as posts about men’s health (both physical and mental).  One of the things I love about Movemeber is that it plays into one of my physical strengths: facial hair. I had shave-worthy facial hair when I was 10 years old. I am currently 31, so I have been shaving for over 2/3s of my life. I kept a moustache/goatee combo for a good number of years. These days, I tend to have stubble, but I rarely grow out the facial hair beyond that. Should be fun.


  1. Le Clown · October 11, 2012

    Holy crap. Kudos all around. But not for the pre-teen facial hair. I am actually sorry about that one…. And thanks, for the visibility, the post, your involvement.
    Le Clown

    • thecaveatlector · October 11, 2012

      Le Clown,
      Well, the benefit of getting the facial hair at 10 was that, by my teens, I had gotten through the gross, patchy stage and could just leave it on my face. Also, it made me look much older than I was, which had its benefits.

      More importantly, thank you for organizing the Bloggers for Movember.

      • Le Clown · October 11, 2012

        You bring great wisdom to your facial hairiness.
        Le Clown

  2. moneyprovidesfreedom · October 11, 2012

    Good for you, Jeff. I used to work at a company that makes Provenge,a prostate cancer drug. I applaud your commitment to Movember. Be sure to take “before” and “after” photos.

  3. SocietyRed · October 11, 2012

    I look forward to the photos Jeff. I may follow your lead and grow the mustache although I vowed never to grow facial hair again after a recent backpacking trip. When I finally looked in a mirror I was shocked to see my dad…or what he would have looked like at 100. I’m 55, I don’t want to look 100 yet, but maybe I’ll try an oversize handlebar this time…

Leave a Reply

