Yes, I like Women’s Soccer because it is so Feminine

In case you missed it, Marco Aurelio Cunha, the co-coordinator for women’s soccer in Brazil, credited increased feminization for the growth of the women’s game. Here is a portion from his interview with the Globe and Mail:

“Now the women are getting more beautiful, putting on make-up. They go in the field in an elegant manner,” he said in a telephone interview from Montreal, where he is accompanying the Brazilian side. “Women’s football used to copy men’s football. Even the jersey model, it was more masculine. We used to dress the girls as boys. So the team lacked a spirit of elegance, femininity. Now the shorts are a bit shorter, the hair styles are more done up. It’s not a woman dressed as a man.”

I have a confession to make. Cunha is totally correct. Though I’ve long been a fan of women’s soccer, my interest has grown as the game has gotten more feminine. I guess it just appeals to my heterosexual manness. Since I know you’re doubting me, please allow me to submit a few pieces of evidence in defense of Mr. Cunha from his very own country’s lady players:

1. They embody submissiveness. So passive.

2. They exemplify female intuition.

3. The women are graceful and elegant.

4. Beautiful. They’re just so beautiful.

Of course, ever the pedant, I have to disagree with Cunha on one point. When women’s soccer is this feminine, it needs no make-up:

Go support your local women’s soccer team and bask in the gentle elegance of their femininity.

Leave a comment